Swann NHD 886MSD
  • Hi,
    Has anyone had any luck in getting the Swann NHD 886MSD to work. I have had no luck with securitySpy auto discovering, and I'm unable to even find the IP address using a network scanner.
  • Some Swann cameras can be made to work, but they are not the easiest to set up. Others don't work at all. These models unfortunately don't seem to support ONVIF, which is bad news. If you are able to return this camera, I would recommend doing so, and instead using one from our Supported Cameras list.

If you want to try to get it to work:

The fact that you can't find them with a network scanner indicates that they could be set to a default IP address that isn't on your subnet. Check the documentation that came with the camera - does this state what the camera's default IP address is?
  • I have been using multiple Swann NHD 825 bullet cameras for a few years now with SecuritySpy and they have worked no problem and without issue. Unfortunately I’m no longer able to find these anywhere to purchase so I decided to get the Swann NHD 886MSD dome camera. There is no documentation with the camera stating ip address unfortunately.
  • The web description and product brochure for this camera describe adding it to a Swann NRV only, and the description of the camera is "Add-on Camera for 4K NVR Systems". The user manual, which I found online, doesn't have much information at all - it just describes adding the camera to a Swann NVR and has no other information about IP address, default login, protocol support or anything that would be expected for a camera that is designed to work with a variety of NVRs. Therefore I think you are out of luck here - is it possible for you to return this camera?