Some SS 5 Questions
  • Hi Ben,

i've been using SS4 since a couple of years with 6 cameras and did update to the new SS5 version for a couple of weeks ago and after some testing i got some questions.

1. When i switch to the browser to view fresh recorded files for a specific camera i am forced to click another camera before the new recorded files gets updated for the camera i wanted to watch in the first place. Thats pretty anoying could this be a bug? I wrote to you about this problem for a couple of years ago....

2. Why is it not possible to access my cameras internal settings through SS like other apps example Hikvision iVMS4200? Its pretty contra productive that i need to use another "free" app like Hikvision iVMS4200 for mac to access my cameras to do internal adjustments. I like that i can use one app like VMS4200 to do all the work in one interface, access my cameras, intrusion, crossline ect. directly from inside the app. I like it so much that i am wondering if i should use it instead of SS. It would make sence to me to add this feature to SS5 in the near future or maybe i am overlooking something?

3. Are SS5 compressing all incoming video? (I have not chosen any compressing in my settings). I am using SS5 on a new Mac mini i7 and it runs without any cpu stress, but it seems that SS5 got problems catching up the good quality from my cams and like to stutter when recording a couple of cams at the same time even through the fact that my mac ain't doing much more than 4% cpu load and are running only SS5? The network are working without problems so i don't understand why SS are struggling to playback my mainstreams? When i use another app like iVMS 4200 i dont have any lags so i guess it must be SS that are struggling doing AI and recordings at the same time or?...

4. When using PTZ the preset 8 gets saved as preset 19 and not 8?

Kind Regards Daniel
  • Hi Daniel,

To answer your questions: