FI9821W V2 video "stutters" like Max Headroom
  • I've been using 4 Foscam IP cameras with SS for many months. Up until recently, it just worked 24/7 doing its thing without complaining. I had been running 4.0.x then upgraded to 4.1.2 when all of the sudden the video from one of my cameras will begin stuttering like Max Headroom. It will flicker back and forth between a previous frame anywhere from a fraction of a second to a few minutes prior and will sometimes stop on its own and will temporarily recover if I restart SS.

Same computer. Same cameras. Same settings. I tried using a newer, beta version 4.1.3, which didn't help. The video that appears in the camera's webpage looks normal.

Here's an example:

• Hi, this does appear to be a bug in 4.1.2 that is affecting a minority of users. Have you tried the latest 4.1.3b5 beta version of SecuritySpy? We've had reports from other users that this fixes it. Perhaps you are using a previous beta version?
  • Unfortunately, it did not. I just downloaded and ran 4.1.3b6. Within seconds of opening it, the stuttering started and continues at this moment - actually, it seems worse. The other Foscam cameras are operating normally.

Doing anything to "disturb" SS such as viewing through the remote app or resizing the window seems to temporarily resolve the issue. The captured footage appears normal follow a brief review. So, during my brief testing it looks like only the way the video is being displayed in real time in SS seems to be the issue - and, again, it's only on one camera.
  • Thanks for reporting back, I've just posted a new beta (b7) with some further changes. Do you see the same problem with this one?

Is there anything significantly different about the setup of this one camera, compared to your other ones that don't display this issue? For example, is recompression turned on for this camera but not the others (under Preferences -> Cameras -> Device)?