Skip to content

Recommendation for external storage

edited June 2021 in SecuritySpy
Hi,

I am looking for external storage to be used for SS (the calculator says I need ca. 10 TB) - so I would like to go with 16TB.
As I have understood NAS is not such a good solution for SS, instead what RAID system can you recommend for TB3 or USB 3.0/3.1 to connect to a Macmini i5 2018 (with Big Sur)?

Thanks.

Br
Sotto

Comments

• Not sure why you would thing a NAS isn't a good solution for SS. I've been using SS and my Synology NAS for 3+ years with no difficulty.
  • Jeff, Ben recommends DAS over NAS basically. But that also doesn't mean that you need RAID Sotto. How are you going to implement RAID, and which level? Personally, I ditched my Synology NAS and switched to a Mac mini with USB drives. it's the cheapest and very reliable as there is no RAID software to worry about. I then use Carbon Copy Cloner to make backups of everything. Personally, I use an external SSD for SS, and then have that backed up to one of the external USB drives.
  • Yes, indeed Ben is not recommending NAS. As far as I understood due to the not automated connection after a reboot of the mac. I would like to go with a NAS (synology) but this possible issue hinders me to do so, didn’t want to go this manually way as I am rebooting my mac daily automatically
  • Many users do have NAS setups, and they can work well, but with a NAS there is just more to go wrong (more failure modes) than a DAS (Direct Attached Storage) solution, so it is always going to be inherently less reliable (often only marginally less reliable, but when you are running the system 24/7 for years then this difference becomes significant). Therefore I would always recommend DAS over NAS unless there is a particular reason to use NAS.