Skip to content

File naming

edited February 2015 in CaptureSync
I am a researcher doing a study on sexual signaling in wolf spiders, and CaptureSync appears to be an extremely useful program for synchronizing and archiving different views of behavioral trials! Nice work! I really looked around a lot for a reasonable solution, and this is the most intuitive program I've found. Two things are kind of holding me up, however; 1) the lack of custom file names (this would be really helpful to distinguish different trials and treatments). Also, 2) being able to store uncompressed WAV would be ideal, as many research applications require this format for analysis.

Thanks for producing an excellent and simple product!

Comments

• Actually a third issue is that I expected the individual movie windows would be named according to the camera used to capture them. This does not appear to be the case.
  • Hi - great to hear you have discovered CaptureSync. To answer your questions:

1. Currently the file names are generated automatically based on the current date and time. If, instead, CaptureSync asked you for a name every time you started a recording, would this resolve your issue?

2. I presume you are taking about the audio track - and yes uncompressed audio has already been implemented and will be a new feature in the next update.

3. The one movie that is created contains all the video and audio streams, so it wouldn't normally be useful to name it based on a single camera. Or did you mean something else?
  • Hi Ben,

Thanks for the quick response! Actually, I like that CaptureSync dumps the files automatically, without further input. That's quite useful for using Automator with my experimental setup.