Unknown IP Address requests
  • Hi there,

I’m an amateur when it comes to setting up a camera system, so forgive my ignorance, but I’ve noticed in the last couple of days, after I updated SecuritySpy from 3.4.8 to 4.2.1, that I’m getting requests from unknown IP addresses for access to port 8000 on my computer (I’ve previously setup web access so that I can have the app on my iPhone to check my cameras when I’m away from home). Luckily I have Little Snitch installed and I was able to deny these requests. I looked up each IP address on Google and each one seems to be originating from either Romania or China. One of them even specifically mentioned something about being linked to hacking.

So my question (sorry for the rambling lead-up)…Is there any reason why this would be happening now, right after installing the new version? And should I be worried that my IP address is somehow now attracting these requests for access? It seems like more than a coincidence since this wasn’t happening before. And as long as the connection is denied, there shouldn’t be any chance of them hacking into my system, is that right? Again, forgive my ignorance, but I’m just not sure how this works and I’m a bit worried about getting hacked.

Any info would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.
  • This will be a coincidence - there is no reason I can think of that this would be due to upgrading your SecuritySpy version. Hackers run networks of bots that scan the Internet trying to connect to common ports on random IP addresses. Once they discover an open port they may try repeatedly to gain access via this port, so this is probably what you are seeing.

Making sure you have a strong password for web access in SecuritySpy itself is the best way to prevent unauthorised access. I would also recommend using SecuritySpy's secure HTTPS interface rather than its standard HTTP interface.